Gluten Free Grains
and Gluten Free Oats

Gluten free grains like oatmeal are sometimes called gluten free oats.

That's because there is such a thing as contaminated oats that have gluten on them.

Gluten free oats have to be labeled "gluten free" to give someone peace of mind that their oats are indeed free of gluten.

They should also be labeled "organic" to know that they are free of toxic chemicals.  You see the problem is that wheat grains and oats are usually grown right next to each other in the fields.

Which means that these oats might have also been sprayed with toxic pesticides and herbicides. 

On top of that, they are processed in the same processing plants.  And oats can become contaminated by gluten in processing plants. 

Besides gluten free oats, there are many other gluten free grains to choose from that will help to make your gluten free life more enjoyable.

You'll also find out about an ancient gluten free grain that has been long forgotten.

And it's a must that you learn about the different names for wheat grains because there are many different names.

Different Names for Wheat

  • Whole Wheat Flour
  • Wheat Berry
  • Wheat Nut
  • Wheat Bran & Germ
  • Enriched Flour
  • Bleached Flour
  • White Flour & Cake Flour
  • Farina
  • Graham
  • Udon Noodles
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Triticale
  • Seitan
  • Matzah
  • Matzo
  • Frumento

Ancient Wheat Grains

  • Emmer or Farro
  • Kamut
  • Spelt
  • Durum
  • Semolina
  • Einkorn
  • Bulgur

Gluten Free Oats or Pure Oats

When oats are grown and produced in an environment where there is no cross-contamination, they are considered gluten free oats or pure oats. 

Gluten free oats are only available from certified gluten free companies and will be marked "Gluten Free" on their packaging.

Cross-contamination is one of the major reasons why most commercial oats are considered unsafe for the gluten intolerant or people with Celiac disease.

Popular Gluten Free Grains
& Pseudo Grains

  • Brown & White Rice
  • Jasmine Rice
  • Arborio & Basmati Rice
  • Wild Rice
  • Forbidden Black Rice, etc.
  • Buckwheat
  • Non-GMO Corn
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Amaranth
  • Sorghum
  • Gluten Free Oats

Ancient Gluten Free Grain
Called Teff

Teff is an ancient gluten free grain!  Teff is a very tiny cereal grain that is used primarily in Ethiopia. 

Teff is used to make a traditional bread called injera which is a fermented flat pancake looking type of bread.

Teff has a mild nutty flavor and can be ground into flour for making bread, pie crusts, etc.  Or it can be eaten whole.

Teff has a history that goes back thousands of years.

This ancient grain is known for containing a lot of nutrition for its tiny size and its high in nutrients like protein, calcium, and iron.

Teff can be a great and "new" gluten free alternative to make an assortment of baked goods for you and your family.

Will You Miss Wheat or Gluten?

So as you can see, there are many types of grains to choose from to replace the wheat grains.

Gluten free grains can be used to make delicious gluten free meals for your family.

In fact, there are enough gluten free grains and gluten free alternatives to experiment with that you may never crave wheat or gluten again!


Return to Gluten Free Foods

Return to Healthy Foods